a minimalist in the kitchen: going plastic free with Chemex coffee

Standard

Last Christmas I was gifted a Chemex coffee maker from a family member.  Turns out it has been one of the best gifts ever!  It’s the simplest thing, a simple glass carafe that has the ability to make delicious coffee.  No plastic, no complicated machinery, no expensive and unnecessarily packaged coffee grinds.  A paper filter, some coffee grinds and some hot water are all I need to make a delightful home brew.  I have written before about the unnecessary evils of a lot of the modern coffee machines out there on the market today.  Plastic pods, aluminum bonded plastic, and excessive packaging are being used to market a sense of simplicity to consumers.  Why on earth do people correlate creating an abundance of waste with simplifying?

Here is my beauty in all it’s glory:

20140403-123106.jpg

 

The Chemex coffee maker was invented in 1896 by German chemist Peter Schlumbohm – the company has a great deal of history and has won a ton of design awards since its creation over a century ago.  Great design lasts, as evidenced by this simple coffeemaker.  I will have to say I prefer the Chemex to the French press method of coffee making – the Chemex filter removes any bitterness in flavour from the coffee (which was an issue with the French press), and it is so much easier to clean!

What do I love best about my Chemex?  I will admit it is the simplicity of the entire process.  I also love that making pour over coffee in a glass carafe requires no plastic at all.  And the fact that it makes a delicious cup of coffee, well, that’s just the icing on the cake.

 All opinions in this post are my own and I have received no compensation for reviewing this product.

One response »

  1. I have never understood the point of the expensive coffee makers. Why on earth do you want to have to buy expensive “pods” of coffee. Not only that, but you can’t change your coffee around You can’t sniff a bean and think “wow I love that, lets give it a go. We have two cafetieres, HUGE for when everybody wants coffee and smallish for when it’s just one or two of us. Grounds go in the compost. Bingo all done.

    I love your chemex glass coffee maker. When the glass in the cafetiere breaks (as it will eventually) I am going to get a Chemex.

Leave a Reply

