putting eco-guilt into perspective

Standard

I’ve been trying these past few weeks to put less pressure on myself about a few things.

The pressure I was putting on myself to reduce my plastic consumption became a sort of obsession. I was spending an inordinate amount of time thinking about what I would be buying at the grocery store and guilting myself endlessly if I was consuming plastic unnecessarily.

Sometimes all we need is a little distance to put things into perspective.

We went on a weekend trip to Whistler, and while I did take my reuseable shopping bags with me, I didn’t spend a ton of time fretting over the plastic bag my loaf of bread came in.

I had an epiphany while shopping in the Whole Foods bulk section recently. I saw a lady working there who was refilling some of the giant bulk bins from tiny plastic clamshell containers. In other words, the good I was doing by eschewing plastic packaging was being undone by the fact that the store was simply creating the garbage rather than me.

Which means that some of those warm fuzzy feelings I was having about making less wasteful choices might be pointless. As were the feelings of guilt I was having over the few packaging items we don’t seem to be able to avoid.

My point? Guilting ourselves into doing anything for the greater good is not sustainable in the long term. Better to focus on the positive and do what we can with the resources we have. So no more guilt. It’s not productive or conducive to a happy life.

We’ve had a lot to celebrate this past month (birthdays, wedding anniversaries, and Mother’s Day) and we’ve been celebrating in our usual environmentally conscious fashion. We’ll continue to focus on experiences rather than stuff when it comes to celebrating special events in our lives, and do our best to reduce the amount of waste we are producing. But without the side of eco-guilt.

Leave a Reply

