a minimalist in the kitchen: easy vegan oatmeal cookies

Standard

A minimalist in most areas of my life, except the food department.  I love food and eating, and am on an adventure this year to eat better and healthier than ever before.  As much as I love food, I am all for simplicity in the kitchen – I like simple recipes with simple, whole food ingredients.  I’ll be posting a few of my favourites in the coming months, so stay tuned!

These cookies are so delicious.  In a word: yum.  Even if you aren’t vegan, you will appreciate the chewy, crispiness that these cookies offer.  And they take about a minute to put together.  Awesome.

The recipe below is my own adaptation of this recipe from Paris Pastry, who adapted their own recipe from Alicia Silverstone’ Kind Diet cookbook.  Once you get started doing a fair amount of cooking and baking, you might want to start making your own adaptations to recipes you find in cookbooks or on the internet – it’s a great way to eliminate ingredients you don’t have on hand or want in your diet, and add in other healthy alternatives.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of oats
  • 1 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup of maple syrup (I made these cookies with 1/2 cup, and I found them pretty sweet, so I will use less syrup next time!)
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup of vegetable oil (I used 1/2 cup on the first go round, and will likely use less for my next batch)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line one baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
  2. Combine oats, flour, baking powder and baking soda in a medium sized bowl.
  3. Add maple syrup and vegetable oil, and stir to combine.
  4. Drop Tablespoon-sized amounts of cookie dough evenly spaced onto parchment lined baking sheet.  Be sure to keep the dough balls small, because these babies flatten out!  Bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes.
  5. Remove cookies from oven when they are golden brown and allow them to cool completely – I know this is hard, but they are so much crispier when they are completely cooled!
  6. Enjoy!

This recipe makes 24 cookies.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

