a minimalist in the kitchen: pumpkin apple muffins

Standard

A minimalist in most areas of my life, except the food department.  I love food and eating, and am on an adventure this year to eat better and healthier than ever before.  As much as I love food, I am all for simplicity in the kitchen – I like simple recipes with simple, whole food ingredients.  I’ll be posting a few of my favourites in the coming months, so stay tuned!

Pumpkin Apple Muffins

These muffins are SO easy to make and are amazingly delicious!  These would probably taste great with some shredded carrot too, but I haven’t tried that variation yet.  Recipe adapted from allrecipes.com here.

Ingredients:

  • 2 and 1/2 cups flour – I like to mix it up, so I use half all-purpose flour and half whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup of sweetener of your choice – I like using maple syrup, but plain ol’ white sugar works too!
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 can of pumpkin puree, 398 mL size (I use organic)
  • 1/3 cup oil of your choice
  • 2 cups of apple, cored and chopped (I use my mini-processor to chop these into pretty small pieces)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).  Line two baking sheets with 24 paper muffin liners.
  2. In a large bowl, sift together flour, sugar, cinnamon and baking soda. In a separate bowl, mix together eggs, pumpkin, oil and chopped apples.  If you are using a liquid sweetener, add it to the bowl with the wet ingredients instead of the dry ingredients.
  3. Add pumpkin mixture to flour mixture; stirring just to moisten.
  4. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups.
  5. Bake in preheated oven for 35 to 40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into a muffin comes out clean.

One alteration I like to make to this recipe is to make muffin tops or scones instead of muffins – line a baking sheet with parchment paper and drop 1/4 cup size amounts of muffin batter onto the baking sheet, evenly spaced.  Baking time is about the same for this method, but be sure to check them around 30 minutes – you’ll know by checking the bottoms of the scones to ensure they aren’t getting too dark!

Leave a Reply

