toss it tuesdays: Ekco 123 garlic press

Standard

I don’t much enjoy shopping.  I find the high of purchasing to be fleeting, and I often find myself second-guessing my purchases by the time I have arrived at home.  Or I end up having buyer’s remorse, because I am always afraid that things I have spent good money on are going to break.  Needless to say, I find myself feeling extremely dissatisfied and annoyed when the things I do own finally break.

Today, I broke my Ekco garlic press.  I’ve been using it for (what else?) pressing garlic, and the handle cracked at the same time as the metal press broke.  Argh.

A garlic press should at least be able to press garlic, no? Clearly my superhuman strength is too much for this one...

I’m more annoyed at the waste of having this kitchen utensil break (this is the third garlic press we’ve owned) than I am by the inconvenience of it – I’m not planning to replace it, as I’m pretty sure a knife can also do the trick of chopping garlic in a satisfactory manner.

Do you slice, mince or crush your garlic?  Do you have a special device to help you along, or do you make do with a simple paring knife?

Do tell.  Clearly, this is one of those “need to know” things.

8 responses »

  1. I used to use one of those little garlic “cars” that you roll around on your counter. I loved it until I garburated the blade. I haven’t replaced it, so I’m chopping. Here’s a random fact: Did you know they don’t use the word garburator in the US. My friend just moved to Hawaii and they laugh at her every time she calls the “garbage disposal” a garburator.

  2. Hi, I found your blog via Christine’s blog.

    I cut garlic with a chef’s knife. The trick is to lay the clove on its side, crush it with the side of the knife (the wide, smooth, non-sharp side, not an edge) and then the skin slides right off. Then I loosely chop it and then I mince it by leaving the tip of the knife touching the cutting board and then with my hand lightly pressing/guiding the top edge of the knife, I rock the knife back and forth in a small back and forth motion to chop up the garlic into smaller bits.

    Since I’m sure that explanation was lacking, look up videos on youtube! I learned a lot of knife skills that way and cooking has become much easier.

Leave a Reply

