project 333: update for August

Standard

One of my goals for the year is to consciously participate in Project 333.  The main purpose of Project 333 is to have a complete wardrobe with only 33 items in it and wear that wardrobe for a period of three months.  I’m hoping that once I get started, I’ll be able to have no more than 33 items in my wardrobe at any given moment.  You can learn more about Project 333 here

This last month of Project 333 has by far been the more difficult of the three-month project.  Summer finally arrived in Vancouver in August, and I realized while my wardrobe didn’t change, my satisfaction level with it did.  I got annoyed that most of my clothing fell into the category of “appropriate for the weather in Vancouver the other 11 months out of the year.”  Being a minimalist, I made do with what I already had on hand.  I wore mostly yoga pants with my previously loved, then shrunken, then stretched out tank tops.  The truth about cheap clothing appears to be that if it shrinks, wait five minutes – it just might find its way back to it’s original shape.  Or not.

My bathing suit that I paid $75 for last summer and had high hopes that it would last longer than two seasons has bitten the proverbial bullet.  I hate it when you spring for more expensive pieces and they don’t last.  I did manage to find a bathing suit bottom for $5, and plan on wearing one of my workout tanks with it when I go swimming over the course of the next year.  I can’t stand bathing suit shopping in the best of times, and this will ensure I won’t have to do any for the next year, but will also ensure I stay suitably covered while at the beach or the pool.

For the beginning of another round of Project 333 starting in September, I’ll be adding a couple of items to my wardrobe and subtracting others.  While I’ll be keeping my leggings and skirts, my summer dresses will be going on hiatus until I take a trip to Mexico this winter.  I’ll also be putting away my sandals and ballet flats, and bringing out one pair of boots for colder weather (and maybe my rain boots for when the weather really gets ugly).  I did buy some workout tanks recently (which I will be including in my 33-item total) that are very functional and that will work underneath a lot of my wrap-style tops.  I have plenty of clothing to last me the next three months, and when the weather cools down, I’ll be looking into my cold weather accessories to see me through.  I’ve also got a new-to-me winter jacket that I bought on sale at my neighbourhood thrift shop in May (see?!?!? I told you we have one very long cold season here!), and I am looking forward to keeping warm in it this winter.

Are you participating in your own Project 333?  If not, will you join me for this round? 

Leave a Reply

