the things that children acquire

Standard

We’ve been on vacation for ten days and the weather is finally getting summery here in Kelowna.  Even though the weather hasn’t been great, we’ve been having fun spending lots of time outdoors and catching up with friends and family.  I did succeed in bringing only one suitcase for myself and the kids for this two week vacation, but something tells me we’ll be going home with a few more things than I brought with us.  In the past week, my kids have managed to accumulate the following:

  • two plastic hockey sticks
  • two plastic Nerf lacrosse sticks
  • one baseball launcher (battery-powered) with six plastic baseballs
  • one Little Tykes basketball net and basketball
  • two sets of golf clubs from the dollar store with plastic holes and golf balls
  • one full set of Ping junior golf clubs complete with Ping golf bag and fancy golf balls
  • a dozen whiffle balls for golfing with in my parents’ back yard
  • two plastic balls from the dollar store for which to use with hockey or lacrosse sticks

The list just doesn’t seem to end.  And that’s not to say that they haven’t been using these things – the boys have been playing outside with a lot of these toys for every waking moment that they are here on vacation.  The sad part will be that we won’t be able to take more than one or two of these items home to our house. 

Did I say sad?  Okay, clearly I won’t be sad, but they might be.  I myself purchased the two plastic hockey sticks at the thrift shop last week before we set out on vacation (because I could not have anticipated the volume of toys and sporting items they would accumulate while we were here), but every single other item has been bought for them as a gift from family members (mostly grandparents). 

Maybe I should be glad they both have summer birthdays?  I’m not sure.  I’m glad the kids are having fun, but it seems that these toys have been purchased for the intent of “keeping the kids busy” and “letting them learn to play on their own.” 

Strangely, every time they get another toy they want the adults to play with them.  I guess the message here is that toys and things are never a good alternative for opportunities to build memories with beloved family members. 

I guess someone might want to tell the adults that before any more money gets spent on stuff.

Leave a Reply

