the shampoo-free experiment

Standard

I recently stumbled upon another great local blog – Alexis lives in Vancouver and I was initially struck by her eloquent and touching post about how uncertain things felt both during and in the wake of the riot in downtown Vancouver following the 2011 Stanley Cup playoffs.  I continued to follow her blog and was thrilled to read her post about going without shampoo.  In the past, I’ve always shunned the idea of going shampoo-free.  I’ve been reading about the “no poo” movement online for years now, and I never believed it would actually work on my fine, sometimes frizzy, wavy-in-some-spots, oily-in-other-areas hair.  However, Alexis’ post made me think, “Why not give it a try?  What do I have to lose in trying?”

Well, I’m only two days in to this experiment, and already I’m liking the results.  Yesterday I gave the baking soda shampoo/apple cider vinegar rinse combo a go and my hair, which tends to get extremely oily overnight, was not even oily this morning.  I did wash it again in the shower this morning with baking soda (1 T mixed with water to make a paste) and apple cider vinegar rinse (1 T mixed with water), and honestly, my hair is the softest it has been in years.

I don’t colour or process my hair, but I’ve noticed that since having children my hair has a tendency to get a bit frizzy and fly-away. Neither of those issues have been materializing the last couple of days, and I’m intrigued to see how things unfold over the coming weeks.  It’s a bonus that baking soda and apple cider vinegar are considerably less expensive than conventional shampoos and conditioner.  It’s also a big plus to remove all those chemicals present in shampoo and conditioner from my daily beauty routine.

I encourage you to join me in this experiment, and be sure to let me know how your journey without shampoo is going.  I’d love to hear of others who are going without shampoo, why you felt like giving it a try, and how your experiment is going.  I’m looking forward to hearing from you!

2 responses »

  1. Hey, thanks for the shout out! Glad to hear you’re giving the “no poo” a try. Looking forward to hearing how it works for you long term – it’s been over a year for me, and I am never going back!

    • My pleasure! I was quite happy with the results after doing it for a week, but then took some time off from the “no poo” project while I went on a summer trip. Boo. Looking forward to getting back into the swing of it now that we’re home!

Leave a Reply

