why people make cake from a box

Standard

I’ve used boxed cake mix for baking many times in the past.  I used it last year to make cupcakes for my oldest’s birthday party.  But I thought this year I would try something different and make cupcakes and icing from scratch for my youngest son’s birthday, which is today.  All I can say is thank goodness we weren’t having company for this birthday.  The cupcakes turned out like round, beige pieces of cement.  And the icing was not a hit – my oldest asked me to scrape it off his cupcake before he would eat it.  Boo.  But we had fun singing “Happy Birthday” and we got a few choice photos of the birthday boy with blue icing all over his face.

Still, I think next time I’ll be asking Duncan Hines or Betty Crocker for a helping hand.

Leave a Reply

