an amazing mother’s day

Standard

Mother’s Day was yesterday, and I can honestly say, it was the best Mother’s Day I have had yet.  I was awakened to a breakfast of eggs and sausage, made for me by my husband, and kisses and hugs from my boys.  Clearly everyone was being very thoughtful and humouring me on my special day, as we all ate breakfast together at the dining table – our house is so small, that sometimes it’s very tempting for everyone to sit in front of the television.

After breakfast, we relaxed around the house for a bit.  I did some cooking, preparing dinner in advance so I wouldn’t be rushed later in the day. When it looked like my youngest was ready for a nap, my husband shooed myself and my oldest son away and suggested we head to the beach together for a little mother and son date for Mother’s Day.  What a great idea!

We headed outside and down to the West End, destined for the beach at English Bay.  On the way, we grabbed an ice cream cone for my son from McDonald’s (free!) and a latte at Starbucks for myself (also free!) and headed down to the sand.  There were tons of tourists around on Davie and Denman, but once we got down to the beach, there weren’t very many people at all.  Perhaps it was a bit too chilly.  Whatever the reason, the two of us had so much fun looking for sea glass and barnacles and shells.  We played frisbee and dug holes in the sand.  We watched a very special bird hang out near the water’s edge, observing the tourists and then flying away when some kids got too close.  On our way off the beach, we picked up a few pieces of garbage so that it couldn’t make its way back into the ocean when the tide came in.

We eventually headed home, and I tossed my ready-made dinner in to the oven and enjoyed a cocktail with my husband in celebration of Mother’s Day.  Throughout the day, I enjoyed lots of hugs and kisses from the kids, and my youngest whispered “Happy Mother’s Day” to me as he lay in bed at the end of the day.  All in all, it was an amazing, memorable day.

2 responses »

  1. Erin, that sounds like a wonderful mother’s day! I always tell my family that time together is what is important, not gifts. I just found your blog via Minimalist Mom. I’m striving to simplify my life, as well. I’m looking forward to reading more here!

    • Thanks for your comment! With all the pressure out there to get (and receive) the perfect gift, sometimes I feel like the only one out there who isn’t asking for sparkly or expensive things. The good news for me is that I’m usually over it by the day after Mother’s Day (or anniversary or birthday). It really was a wonderful day. Welcome and best of luck in your journey to simplify your life!

Leave a Reply

