no more frump

Standard

Being the frugal gal that I am, I generally only purchase clothing for myself when it has already been deeply discounted.  Like I mean, REAL deeply discounted.  And I don’t tend to shop in expensive clothing stores to begin with (think GAP and American Apparel).  Sometimes it’s hard to find the correct size when you’re scraping the bottom of the barrel, so in the past, I’ve purchased clothing items in sizes larger than I probably should have (you know, because they were such a great deal!).  Well, I went into the Joe Fresh store on Granville St today and was surprised (albeit pleasantly) when the salesgirl there suggested I was a size medium.  Really?  I’d been buying larger sizes for years.  So I tried on some shirts and realized that yes, I am in fact a medium.  This was reinforced by the fact that when I put back on the size large shirt that I had left the house in, I looked like quite a frump.  I realized then and there that I had been buying shirts in the past that were the wrong size, thinking I was getting a deal because the price was good.  But what I was really short changing myself on was that regardless of what I paid for them, the shirts didn’t fit and they certainly didn’t look great on me.  So, I did what any minimalist would do – I bought a couple of good quality shirts (yes, you can find nice clothes at Joe Fresh, believe it or not) in the correct size and promptly went home and decluttered a dozen shirts from my closet that are incorrectly sized. Those shirts may have lost their oomph over the last couple of years and they had become saggy, baggy, and otherwise unattractive on me.  But I didn’t throw them out – I’ve recycled them to the thrift store and maybe they’ll find their way to a new home where they can get a little more love.

Leave a Reply

